THE virtual five-mile Hartlepool Marina race started outside Lidl, with a route that went out to Sandhutton and back over any of four days.

From the Thirsk and Sowerby Harriers entrants, Trudy Morrice, happy on all terrain, was the fastest of the 72 finishers, in 36.53, with Joseph Busuttil second in 37.25, Bronwyn Mayo third in 37.03, Lorraine Hiles fourth in 37.39 and Alan Simpson fifth in 37.57.

The remainder of the field were Dave Baker, Rob Burn, Adrian Elsworth, Joe O'Keefe, Pedro Carrasco, David Tervit, Paul Chapman, Anna Whitham, Paul Bradford, Kirsty Naylor, Martyn Coy, Paul Peacock, Brett Edgeworth, Alexander Miller, Leanne Todd, Duncan Fothergill, Clare Tempest, Geoff Bullock, Joe Joyce, Andrew Pollard, Pauline Percy, Katie Wadsworth, Louise Casson, Lucy Sillars, Sarah Harrison, Louise Mayfield, Trish Radford, Steve Billings, Helen Ashworth, Hilary Coventry, Andrea Colls, Chris Wordsworth, Will Jagger, Ruth Pollard, Joanne Hunt, Alison Butcher, Ken Evitt, Barry Smart-Barker, David Palmer, Rachel Davidson, Gavin Coventry, Paul Goacher, Walter Busuttil, Craig Atherton, then Alan, Andy and Allison Whitley, Margaret Wikeley, Christine Burn, Diana Williams, Maureen Worley, Sarah Goacher, Simon Baker, Katie Rees, Alan Wikeley, Hugh Jenyns, Wendy Bennett, Denise Gandy, Rosie Gatenby, Liz Stephenson, Phillip Craig, Gillian Crane, Richard Easby, Ian Crane, Bev Davies, Kimberli Werner and Beth Haggath.

Runners were pleased to give a donation to support the Ukraine appeal.

Five members of the Harriers' fell running fraternity undertook the Blubberhouses 25 organised by the Nidderdale LDWA on another perfect day with cooling breeze on the tops. The race began, after an early start, taking in Swinsty and Fewston reservoirs, and along the Washburn Valley.

The race was well supported with plenty of water stops, and although it was described as 25 miles, was probably nearer 24, with 2,774 feet of ascent. Gavin Coventry, Alan Simpson and Marc Davies all finished in under five hours with Fran Jeffery taking 5.04 and Pedro Carrasco about 5.20.