Yeadon-Guiseley M.C. Trial, Cockhill Mines, Sunday.

FORMER world trials champion and Scott Trials winner Dougie Lampkin again demonstrated his skills on Sunday at remote and almost Arctic Cockhill Mines high above Nidderdale where he rode his Vertigo machine to a clear victory over Leyburn joiner Richard Sadler and Telford’s Tom Minta.

The non-championship event attracted 71 main course contenders and just eight small wheel youngsters who enjoyed a six section course taking in the grassy banks and some shallow parts of the Cockhill Stream. The icy east wind chilled all involved.

The main course headed east across the moor to section one alongside boundary wall then dropped into the deep valley to ride two stream sections. The narrow ravine just accelerated the cold wind and the observers were tested.

John Hinchcliffe drew the short straw – section five, that towered above parc ferme.

Lampkin was penalty free through every section on all four laps until section four on his final visit when he put a boot down. Richard Sadler was threatening and rode four sections without loss but dropped marks in five sections. Tom Minta battled with section five and incurred eight penalties then failed the muddy gradient at section nine which really tested the hard course contenders.

Alan Mud ran away with the Clubman A class from Honda mounted Paul Jackson and Gas Gas rider Katy Sunter. Robin Luscombe took his BSA Bantam to a second class victory in seven days to beat Sherco mounted Phillip Hammond and Rob Hardisty. Section cut down to a mud slide for all classes and observer Chris Beecroft marked many failures.

The Small Wheels contingent rode six grassy and stream sections. Class winners Koby Smith, Sophie Sellers and Jacob Smith were well ahead of their rivals.


Hard course:

Experts: 1 Dougie Lampkin (Vertigo) 1, 2 Richard Sadler (Gas Gas) 7, 3 Tom Minta (Scorpa) 24.Youth Class A 1 Elliott Laws (Vertigo) 68, 2 George Hemingway (Beta) 81. 3 Alice Minta (Scorpa) 100. Clubman A: 1 Alan Mudd (Beta) 27, 2 Paul Jackson (Honda) 52, 3 Katy Sunter (Gas Gas) 56. Youth B: Harrison Lightfoot (Beta) 134.Clubman B: 1 Robin Luscombe (BSA) 15, 2 Phillip Hammond (Sherco) 23, 3 Robert Hardisty (Sherco) 26. Youth Class B: Arran Sherwin (Beta) 109.Youth Class C: Zachary Sellers (Beta) 161. Small Wheels hard: Koby Smuih (Beta), 32, 2 Oliver Richardson (Oset) 57.

Small Wheels middle course: 1 Jacob Bragg (Oset) 27, 2 Sophie Sellers (Oset) 45. Small Wheels easy course: 1 Jacob Smith (Beta) 39, 2 Edward Kopasz (Oset) 55, 3 Adam Carter (Oset) 70.

Darlington & District Motor Club.

Experts: Richard Sadler (Gas Gas) 6, Jono Richardson (Montesa) 14, Robert Waite (Beta) 15.Inters: Paul Nicholson (Montesa) 10, Kevin Tate (Scorpa) 15, Jack Stones (Beta) 21. Novices: Thomas Middleton (Beta) 23, Ryan Brown (Beta) 30, Elliott Laws (Vertigo) 33. Youth Class A: Richard Pulman (Scorpa) 39, George Clarke (Sherco) 45, Green course: Darren Gill (Beta) 13, Richard Fawcett (Sherco) 18, Chris Priestman (Vertigo) 19. Easy course: Clubmen. Richard Shepherd (Honda) 6, Paul Astwood (Gas Gas) 8. Mark Gaskin (Beta) 15. Twin Shock: Robin Luscombe (BSA) 7, Paul Dennis (Triumph) 19, Allan Richardson (Triumph) 19. Youth Class A: Jack Bennett (Beta) 32, Lewis Graham (Beta) 61, Oliver Allison (Sherco) 57.Youth Class B: Alfie Royle (Beta) 34, Freddie Dawson (Gas Gas) 41, Callum Fowler (Beta) 63. Youth Class C: Charlie Astwood (Beta) 75.

Weekend fixture list.

Castleside Trials Club. Trial, Lambshields, Edmundbyers, 11am.

Spen Valley M.C.C. Trial. The Parkwood Offroad Centre, Tong, 11am.