THE annual captain’s day took place at Masham Golf Club on Sunday.

Terry Jobling’s role as this year’s captain has been disrupted for the past six months but even the torrential downpour that came during Sunday's competition, did not dent the day’s game of golf.

Admittedly, the rain did interrupt some players' concentration, but certainly not all as can be attested by the scores returned to the club house.

After a meat pie dinner, an auction in aid of the Yorkshire Air Ambulance was held, raising more than £500 before Terry thanked Pam for the meal, Arthur for the bar and the green keepers for their well-presented greens.

A very well stocked prize table was proof of the number of different competitions Terry had for all to take part in.

To begin with, he announced the winners of the two club, Neil Pickard, Arthur Franks, Ben Brown and Howard Falshaw twice over.

The nearest the pin competition was measured by the competitors stepping out the distance and on one hole it was won by Arthur with his size sevens against Simon’s size tens.

So, on holes two and 11, Simon Collins, holes four and 13, Howard Falshaw and Norman Shepherd (both same shoe size) and holes eight and 17, Arthur Franks with his size sevens.

Next came the prizes for the 16+ handicaps: 1st Alistair Meakin 35pts (B9), 2nd Arthur Franks 35pts, 3rd Tony Clarkson 34pts and 4th Dicky Mawer 33pts.

Prizes for the up to 15 handicaps:- 1st Mike Greenwood 37pts, 2nd Jonathan Stansfield 36 (B9), 3rd Will I’Anson 36pts.

The best gross score went to Ben Brown with a total of 73 and the overall winner of the best Net score went to Simon Collings, (the winner of last week’s Theakston Cup).

In accepting his prize, Simon thanked Terry for organising such a successful day to which everybody agreed and showed their appreciation.

Ladies Section

August 31, Ladies Theakston Trophy: 1st Sue Whitehead, 2nd Pat Watts, 3rd Penny Nicklas, 4th Barbara Jameson. September 3, Ladies 9 hole Qualifying Stableford: 1st Janet Bates, 2nd Susan Jarratt, 3rd Sarah Newby, 4th Madeleine Daffern. September 3, Burrill Cockcroft (1st round): 1st Jan Mcgee. 2nd Mandy Boak, 3rd Jean Ogden, 4th Brenda Loveday.

Men’s Section

August 29, Men’s nine hole Stableford: 1st Gerry Johnson 20points, 2nd Charlie Abbot 19pts (last six) , 3rd Ben Brown 19pts, 4th Mike Harrison 18pts. August 31, Theakston Cup (Medal Play): 1st Simon Collings 83-(15)-68, 2nd Mike Greenwood 76-(05)-71, 3rd Jon Bain 87-(15)-72, 4th Andrew Sturdy 94-(21)-73. Two club, Neil Pickard, Adrian Sloanes, “Jocky” Beckett, Jonathan Stansfield, Richard Howard, Craig Nicholls and Mike Greenwood.