Wetherby & District Motor Club, fifth Norman Crooks Trophy Trial at Cockhill Mines, Greenhow, Saturday.

Wetherby braved the weather forecast on Saturday to stage the fifth Norman Crooks Trophy championship trial at gloomy Cockhill Mines, near the village of Greenhow high above Nidderdale.

Fifty eight competitors were at the former lead mines to ride a four-lap championship course.

Course planner Patrick Darbyshire was mindful of the weather. “I did not include the east valley as the stream was running deep and more rain would have made it impassable,” he said.

As riders scaled Wendy Sherwin’s opening climb on lap one, the sky was darkening. The modest climb extracted some penalties but the major excitement was when the photographer fell off his camping stool and was aided by Lucy Ayrton.

The second section was downstream and below the third and fourth that overlooked the openers. The course then tracked the west valley for section five to seven with eight to ten up the narrow stream adjacent to the paddock. As the early numbers homed in on Mrs Sherwin’s climb, the clouds rolled in and with them came the torrential rain.

Despite the monsoon, only seven competitors retired. The heroes were Wendy Sherwin, Jim Benson, Sue Wainwright, Brian Ayrton, Rob Shepherd, Andy Sherwin, Steve Wicks, and Emma Hemingway.

Wetherby will run two more Crooks Trophy trials. The next is on September 5 at Grimwith Reservoir, near Greenhow and the final trial is on September 19 when Dave Mawer hosts the event at Kirkby Malzeard. Start time is 3.30pm.

Results. Hard course: Expert: Danny Gamble (Sherco) 17. Inters: Anthony Ayrton (TRS) 63.

Novices: 1 Joel Sadler (Beta) 24, 2 Bevan Blacker (Gas Gas) 45, 3 Dave Mawer (Beta) 50. Youth Class A: 1 Harry Hemingway (Beta) 15, 2 George Hemingway (Beta) 62.Green course: Novices: 1 Andy Tales (Fantic) 10, 2 Danny Sadler (Beta) 14, 3 Ian Myers (Sherco). Over 40s: Phillip Hammond (Sherco) 11.

Over 50s: 1 Robert Hardisty (Sherco) 14, 2 Darren Mitchell (Beta) 18, 3 Neil Gaunt (Vertigo) 20.Youths: 1 Lucy Ayrton (TRS) 29. 2 Jack Bennett (Beta) 33. Easy course: Novices: 1 Mason Carter (TRS) 18, 2 Thomas Simpson (Beta) 24, 3 Chris Watson (TRS) 26. Over 40s: 1 Andrew Walters (Honda) 26, 2 Peter Illingworth (Beta) 31, 3 John Henfrey (Beta) 48. Over 50s: 1 Stewart Molloy (Beta) 12, 2 Mark Ryder (Sherco) 19, 3 Michael Benson (Beta) 22. Over 60s: 1 Ian Brogden (Beta) 11, 2 Graham Parker (Montesa) 27. Twin Shocks: 1 Richard Shepherd (Honda) 2, 2 Steve Gossop (BSA) 20, 3 John Ellis (Fantic) 24. Youth: Arran Sherwin (Beta) 49.

Diary Dates.

Saturday: Yeadon-Guiseley Motor Club. Trial, Dob Park, Clifton. (No spectators admitted). 11am.

Sunday: Bradford Motor Club, trial, Rough Holden, Silsden. 10.30am.