THE new normal is not normal, but for runners and athletes who are used to solitary training, even this continued distancing is too much for those who do like to compete once in a while.

However, virtual end of season prizes were awarded by Richmond and Zetland Harriers, and prize winners were as follows: Ollie Middleton was presented with the trophy for the most points in the U13 young athletes league (YAL), Aiden Smith also won the trophy in the YAL in the U15 category.

Kyle Rabjohn took home the trophy for the most points in the U17 category.

The Bob Woods trophy for the junior male endurance runner (U20) was awarded to Josh Hammett and his season included personal bests (pbs) in the 800, 1,500 and 3,000m, but it was a very close-run thing with three U15 boys all completing pbs in the same events.

The Road Running Plate was awarded to Carl Jones, with pbs over ten miles, the half and full marathon distance and with further selection for England over the marathon distance.

The male cross country trophy was presented to Charlie Stephenson for another outstanding season. Ben Ross Russell was awarded the male sprint trophy and Henry Banks won the male hurdles prize.

The male throw had only one winner, with Dan Upton improving his pbs on a weekly basis. Aiden Smith was presented with the male jump trophy. The best all round junior male went to Tom O’Mahoney with Joe Reeve runner up.

The most improved senior went to Leon Reeve. Shannon Robinson won the Christina Boxer female endurance trophy.

The female cross country trophy went to Nicola Simpson, with Faith Andrews winning the female sprint cup.

The female throws trophy went to Abbie Robson and Olivia Jackson-Bowers winning the best all round junior female and Phoebe Haw in the runner up position.

The veterans trophy went to Dan Upton for his superb performances all round the country in the masters events. He also took the athlete of the year for his all-round events and not just the throws where he excels.

The most improved junior cross country athlete went to Ollie Middleton. The Chairman’s trophy went to Mark Fletcher, with Elly Robertson winning the Engravers trophy for all round achievement and determination.

Pauline Whittaker was the winner of the best all round senior for her multi-eventing and Ken Harker was presented with the Beccy Robinson trophy for his sterling work as the chairman and all-round good egg.

The best all round junior sportsmanship went to Ollie Rogerson with Nicki Buckett winning the senior sportsmanship.

The club’s athletes have not stopped training, and some have been getting their trainers on a doing time trials for fun. The most recent was a one mile time trial with Rob Scott the quickest male (04:55) and Shona Fletcher the quickest female (05:40). Others who had a go were juniors Joe Reeve (05:13), Jack Vasey (06:24), Ollie Middleton (06:07), Rhys Robinson (06:08), Matilda Ellis (06:42) and Kiki Fletcher (07:43).

The older ones: Ken Harker (05:27), Steve Middleton (05:14), Paul Ellis (05:39), Carl Loughney (05:54), Paul Simpson (05:55), Steve Sadler (06:09), Becca Smith (06:11), Rachel Smith (06:32), Rob Lickley (06:34), Nicola Simpson (06:46), Gail Smith (07:32), Pauline Whittaker (07:34), Nicki Buckett (07:59), Peter O’Mahoney (08:24) and Jane Bond (10:46).

Dan Upton continues to enter the Valhalla virtual throws competition and put together another great string for a season’s best of 12.8m, putting him well up towards the top of the standings with athletes competing from all over the world at this on line event.

Further information on the club and training nights can be found on the website