A SCHOOL football team has bounced back from bitter disappointment to win a major trophy.

Hurworth School Year 11’s team won the Durham County Schools FA Trophy, beating Easington School 2-1 in a thrilling final.

The team members were devastated a year ago when they lost the Year 10’s county final 1-0 in extra-time.

But disappointment turned to joy this year when they fought back from being 1-0 down at half-time to win 2-1, with Matthew Wilson coming off the bench to equalise, and Stevie Johnson scoring the winner with a great strike from outside the box.

The team’s manager Dean Judson said: “This Victory was just rewards after being runners-up last year. The team has won four Darlington league titles and three town cup finals, but this was the one that they targeted at the start of the year.

“They’re a first-class group of individuals who show a will to win that’s second to none. I’m delighted for them and their families who’ve supported the boys throughout their five years at the school.

“We also must pay credit to Easington School who were worthy opponents and ensured the game was played in a great spirit.”

Joint captain Alfie Judson said: “I’m really proud of the lads, especially after last year because we were gutted to lose in the final. It made us even more determined this time.”

Fellow joint captain Andy Wilson added: "I’m delighted and relieved that, after five years of trying and hard work, it's finally paid off.”

Around 80 teams took part and it’s the first time Hurworth School has won the county cup since 2006. This year’s team also reached the last 16 of the Schools National Cup but were again agonisingly beaten in extra-time.

Two members of the Hurworth team have been signed up for scholarships by professional clubs – midfielder Andy Wilson with Middlesbrough, and goalkeeper Bobby Jones with Wigan Athletic.

The line-up for the final was: Bobby Jones, Alfie Judson, Ellis McMain, Andy Wilson, Liam Stamp, Louis O’Neill, Josh Garwood, Cameron Banks, Harry Stansfield, Stevie Johnson and Jacob Stayman-Collins. Subs: Cameron Hall, Drew Charlton, Matthew Wilson, and Brandon Buckley. Josh Bramham and Jack Hobbs also featured in previous rounds.

Meanwhile, Hurworth School has raised £1,900 for Sports Relief with a non-uniform day, cake sale, and pupils being sponsored to run a mile.