BEDALE and Aiskew Runners recently concluded their tenth year celebrations with a grand presentation evening dinner and dance at the Romanby Golf Club.

Chairman Richard Woods gave the initial address outlining how the club had started in the car park at the Bedale Sports Centre, followed by various other outdoor venues until becoming part of Bedale Sports Club on the Leyburn Road.

He surprised six members present, who had started at the beginning, with specially printed T shirts and appropriate anecdotes, much to everyone's amusement.

The guest of honour was Sheila Illingworth, a former international track athlete, who now has a career in sports nutrition.

She presented the awards and was then invited to say a few words.

She talked about her career as an international athlete, the gruelling training regime and rubbing shoulders with some very well known athletic stars.

She invited questions and several very interesting topics were covered including training, nutrition and motivation.

All present were enthralled and entertained by an excellent speaker.

The award winners and runners up were:

Women's Club Champion: Helen Shields and Nicola Simpson (tie); Runner Up: Becky Morris

Men's Club Champion: Jamie Berry; Runner Up: Paul Ellis

Women's Handicap Champion: Helen Simpson; Runner Up: Rebecca Smith

Men's Handicap Champion: Raymond Lightle; Runner Up: Paul Bainbridge

Attendee Award: Mary McDonald

Women's Outstanding Running Performance: Helen Shields

Men's Outstanding Running Performance: Raymond Lightle

Most Improved Runner: Nicola Simpson

Parkrun Award: Anne Johnson

Special Award: Lena Conlin

The final presentation was the Brian Hall Award.

The well known Bedale historian, sports fan and Running Club president donated this award several years ago, and he was in attendance to present it himself

This is decided by every member getting the opportunity to vote, and this year was a tie for the first time, between Mary McDonald and Paul Bainbridge.