Bedale High School has held its annual presentation of awards.

The joint chairman of governors Steve Ingram spoke about the success of the school, and the year-on-year increase in numbers on roll.

Head teacher Tom Kelly spoke about how students inspire teachers as well as the other way round, while the newly-formed school band started proceedings with the "Peter Gunn Theme" from The Blues Brothers, before the guest of honour, ex-student Sophie Hammond gave her address.

Darlington and Stockton Times: Tom Kelly (headteacher) and Sophie Hammond

She is a professional performer and teacher of performing arts who spoke about how she was unsuccessful when getting to the last two auditions for West End productions of Bend It Like Beckham and Wicked, and how she managed to turn those stumbling blocks into stepping stones to help her in her career.

The band played Celebration by Kool and the Gang, and Peggy Vennell and Poppy Cundall sang The Movie In My Mind from Miss Saigon, before the Rev Gareth Baron read the parable of the Good Samaritan.

The MC for the evening was Louise Woodward, who conducted the ceremony before Georgia Pattison proposed the vote of thanks to Sophie Hammond and presented her with a bouquet of flowers.

The main awards were as follows:

Bedale Dramatic Society Shield for Upper School Drama; Peggy Vennell. Contribution by a Year 10 Pupil Cup; Timothy Pepper. Contribution by a Year 11 Pupil Cup; James Green. Contribution by a Year 8 Pupil Cup; Logan Mace. Contribution by a Year 9 Pupil Cup; Luke Jackson. Cup for Upper School History; Michaela Pampalou. ICT Award for Lower School; Julia Woronko. ICT Award for Upper School; Ryan Hutchinson. Longstaff Award for Upper School Languages, French Matthew. Kirby Longstaff Award for Upper School Languages, German; Ryan McGuinness. Moss Cup for Upper School Mathematics; Michaela Pampalou. The Bedale Art group Cup for Lower School Art; Charly Simpson. The Bedale Art group Cup for Upper School Art; Daisy Kitching. The Cup for Outstanding Work in Lower School English; Oliver Ward. The Cup for Outstanding Work in Upper School English; Annie Hughes. The Dalepak Cup for Effort in Upper School Food Technology; Bella Spencer. The Dodd Cup for Lower School Geography; Luke Wagstaff. The Gillett Cup for Lower School History; Evie Bright. The John Barley Award for Food and Catering Excellence; Michaela Pampalou. The Ken Dewis Upper School cup for Design Technology; Hannah Stead. The Lower School Cup for Contribution to Music; Poppy Hawkins. The Lower School Cup for Design Technology; Isabelle Nibblet. The Lower School Cup for Textiles; Daisy Weightman. The Lower School Science Award; Sophie Allanson. The Malcolm Young Science Award for Upper School; Ryan Hutchinson. The Michelle Atkinson Shield for Contribution to Year 7; Adam Harland. The Nickery Nook Dramatic Arts Award for Lower School Drama, Imogen Pattison. The Richard Lawson trophy for Lower School Mathematics, Ruby Astbury. The Russell Cup for Lower School Languages – French, Oscar Ward. The Turner Cup for Upper School Geography, Alexandra Pryce. The Upper School Cup for Contribution to Music, Brandon Murphy. The Upper School Cup for Textiles, Erin Burrows. The WI Cup for Excellent Work in Food Technology, Ruby Astbury. The Morton Cup for Service to the School – Lower School, Georgia Pattison. The 50th Anniversary Reunion Trophy for Service to the School, Katie Elsden; The Brian Redhead Trophy, Emma Croker. The Endeavour Trophy for most improved Year 11, Ryan Hutchinson. The Governors' Cup; James Green. The Thompson Cup for the Best Examination Results; Matthew Kirby. The Chamber of Trade Rose Bowl for the Best Examination Results; Bella Spencer. The Queen's Golden Jubilee Shield for Courage in Adversity; Maisie Morris. The Rotary Shield for Service Above Self; Aaron Hammond. Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement; Michaela Pampalou. The Danny Davies Cup for Most Improved Footballer; Isabelle Niblett. Outstanding Footballer Award – Male, Rowan Gibb-Parker. Outstanding Footballer Award – Female, Hollie Johnson. The Irene Boreham Cup for Achievement in Netball, Libby Loughlin. Bedale High School Cup for Hockey, Hannah Norman. The Becky Robinson trophy for Effort in Girls' Sport; Poppy Rayner. The Jonny Miles Cup for Effort in Physical Education; Adam Casterton. The Richard Blanchard Cup for Rugby; Oliver Waikari. The Richard Blanchard Cup for Basketball; Jacob Howe. The Brittain Cup for Improvement in Girls' Sport; Maddie Main. The Adrian Grayson Cup for Outstanding Achievement in Cricket; Ben Croft. The Mitchinson Cup for Outstanding Achievement in Girls' Sport; Maisie Morris. The Coombs Cup for Outstanding Achievement in Boys' Sport; Jaydon Wise-Malcolm.