MEMBERS, officials and supporters, past and present, gathered to celebrate the 75th anniversary of Northallerton Hockey Club on Friday.

The club, formed at a meeting in the town's Russell Café in 1947, hosted a special event, combined with the annual end of season presentation night, at the Golden Lion Hotel.

Players from the 1950s and 60s onwards attended, and were thrilled to hear how the club has grown, to the point where it now has two women's teams and a thriving junior section, with many youngsters now making their way in senior hockey, and others winning through to represent North Yorkshire.

Club chair Stephanie Beckwith welcomed guests, and remarked on how many lives had been touched by the club across the generations, both in the town and beyond, before junior co-ordinator Rachel Swain, second team captain Sandra Horner and club captain Sarah McDonald presented this season's awards.

Following the conclusion of this season's junior fixtures on Sunday, a second end of season celebration event for the club's under 10s and 12s was held at Northallerton Cricket Club on Sunday afternoon.

2021/2022 awards

R&V Ellenor Cup for best player of the season, Brooke Hodgson

G&WK Holden Trophy for best player of the season, Jess Thurlow

Teddy Asquith Trophy for most improved player under 21, Emma Kirby

Maureen Hall Shield for second team top goalscorer, Sandra Horner

Skinner trophy for top league goal scorer, Amy Parker and Becky Day

Nick Race Yorkshire Lionheart Cup, Jayne Stubbins

Tony Howard Memorial Trophy for under 21 players' player, Becksy Wilkin

Under 10s: Players' player, Poppy Race, coaches' player, Poppy Race, most improved player, Lottie Wilson.

Under 12s: Players' player, Sadie Robinson, Millie Luck, Charlotte Jackson-Bowers and Imogen O’Connor, coaches' player, Charlotte Jackson-Bowers and Sadie Robinson, most improved player, Amelia Place.

Under 14s: Players' player, Alice Parker, coaches' player, Bea Rayfield, most improved player, Heidi Smith.

Under 16s: Players' player, Lucy Robinson, coaches' player, Emma Kirby, most improved player, Florrie Rayfield