Horsforth & D.M.C. Round one, Simon Green Motor Engineers Championship trial, Parkwood Offroad Centre, Sunday.

THE Parkwood Offroad Centre hosted the opening Simon Green Motor Engineers championship trial on Sunday where 120 competitors, in several classes, rode a three-lap 12-section course. The course plotters deserve a medal for their combined efforts.

Despite torrential rain, then snow followed by ice, six clean rides were posted plus ten single figure scores at the top of the hard route spreadsheet. The team of Graham and Barrie Smith plus Nige Pearson, Tom Green, Russ Brodie and Simon Green marked out the course. Max Kopasz and Gareth Mitchell plotted the separate Small Wheels course. With a large entry, daylight was questionable at the end of the days so the competitors were dispatched in groups to all twelve sections. That plan speeded up the trial.

Section five featured a very large log which most competitors avoided but not series sponsor Simon Green, whose Sherco took a dislike to the woodwork and attacked it – three times. Only ten competitors dropped out.


Hard course: Experts: Andrew Cripps (Beta) 4. Inters: 1 Anthony Ayrton (Montesa) 5, Danny Cockshott (Vertigo) 6, 3 Sam Boocock (Sherco) 7. Novices: 1 Paul Sullivan (Vertigo) 1, 2 Daniel Smith (Sherco) 2, 3 Paul Kettlewell (Sherco) 2. Over 50s: 1 Peter Field (Gas Gas) 13, 2 Neil Wright (TRS) 17. Youth Class A: 1 Charlie Cripps (Beta) 13, 2 Arran Sherwin (Beta) 56. Youth Class B: 1 Isaac Shuttleworth (Beta) 24, 2 Harrison Lightfoot (Beta) 29, 3 Harry Cripps (Beta) 44. Clubman A: Novices: 1 = Phillip Hammond (Sherco) / Michael Benn (Gas Gas) 0, 3 Aaron Crowder (Beta) 1. Over 50s: 1 = David Lamin (Vertigo) / Paul Gravestock (Gas Gas) 0, 3 Stewart Oughton (Beta) 1.Youth Class A: Flynn Collings (Beta) 58.Youth Class B: 1 Jimmy Crabtree (Vertigo) 21, 2 Charlie Petty (Beta) 24, 3 Oliver Petty (Beta) 46. Youth Class C: 1 Zachary Sellers (Beta) 23Clubman B: Novices: 1 = Chris Laws (Vertigo) / Nick Eagleton (Honda) 0, 3 David Pickles (Montesa) 15. Over 50s: Glynn Tattersall (Montesa) 24. Over 60s: 1 Steve Jackson (TRS) 3, 2 David Shepherd (Beta) 13, 3 Paul Outhwaite (Beta) 97.

Sunday fixtures.

South Shropshire Motor Club, national Vic Brittain Trophy Trial, Cleobury North 10am

Guisborough & D.M.C. Trial, Aislaby Quarry, Whitby, 10am

Yeadon-Guiseley D.M.C. Trial, Addingham Moorside, 11am