EVENT seven of the Thirsk and Sowerby Harriers' club championship series, the virtual Gribdale Growler Fell Race, took place over four days, using a course along the Cleveland Way.

The route went north towards Sneck Yat, with fine views of Lake Gormire along much of the way, for those who had time to look. The fastest ten finishers over the 5.9 mile distance were men, including a guest, but women were in the next three places, with Trudy Morrice continuing her excellent form to finish 11th in 44.23, Gemma Tutty 12th, second lady in 44.30 and Sarah Yeomans 13th, and third lady in 44.39.

Fourth lady, Kirsty Naylor, was a little slower, in 51.03, just ahead of Hilary Coventry, fifth in 51.05, the improving Sarah Harrison sixth in 52.01, Lorraine Hiles seventh in 52.02, Andrea Colls eighth in 52.11, new member, Alison Whiteley, ninth in 52.46 and Clare Tempest tenth in 53.27.

As for the men, Tom Levi, almost back to his best, was fastest in 38.12, with the consistent Paul Peacock second in 38.30, Matt Jones third in 39.06, Joshua Fothergill fourth in 40.56, Andrew Price fifth in 41.10, another new member, Kieran Leppard sixth in 42.25, Josh Cooper seventh in 43.19, the redoubtable Rob Burn eighth in 44.05, Walter Busittil ninth in 44.22 and Alan Simpson tenth in 44.53.

Other members among the 85 finishers were Gary Bastow, Adam Leigh, Mike Lowther, Paul Chapman, Ken Wood, Brett Edgeworth, Andy Butcher, Duncan Fothergill, Gary Wilkinson, Marc Davies, Dave Baker, Richard Morrice, Adrian Saunders – thanks to Adrian for compiling the results – Martyn Coy, Pedro Carrasco, Andy Whiteley, Dave Wood, Geoff Bullock, Stephanie Hawkins, Will Jagger, Tracey Lowther, Sonja van der Westhuisen, Joe Joyce, David Palmer, Steve Billings, Joanne Hunt, Paul Goacher, Rob Lickley, Rhiannon Richards, Carol Morrison, Ken Evitt, James Stephenson, Alison Butcher, Faith Coy, Clare Jones, Drikus van der Westhuisen, Phillip Craig, Margaret Wikeley, Molly Kirkhope, Christine Burn, Jacob Condor, Paul Adams, Pat Kirby, Bev Davies, Kimberli Werner, Simon McKeown, Ellen Brookes, Maureen Worley, Hugh Jennyns, Richard Easby, Liz Stephenson, Alan Wikeley, Rebecca Longster, Sharon Keegan, Sarah Goacher, Kerry Morgan, Denise Gandy, Rosie Gatenby, Siobhan Woodland, Marian Codling and Angie Weatherhead.

Entries are open for Sessay Swift 6k at 7.15pm on August 18. It is online entry only, and places are going fast. See www.thirskandsowerbyharriers.co.uk/sessay-swift