CLUB president Ian Smith chaired the first ever Bedale Golf Club annual general meeting held virtually via Zoom.

The meeting heard how Covid created an unprecedented arena in which to operate and manage a golf club. It has been recognised by club secretaries as the year of rapid adaptability, such was the speed of change and the period of notice clubs received in order to formulate, agree, implement and communicate changes in the way they were allowed to operate.

The situation necessitated a great degree of flexibility and ingenuity in the processes which the club had to adopt, some of which may continue into general management once things return to normal. For example, at the start of the first return to play, the club had greater tee time intervals and many members enjoyed the comfort this gave them in the playing of their golf.

The start of the competition season heralded further innovations in the requirement for both entering and submitting scores. This brought about the use of mobile score input technology to assist in this process and this was quickly developed through the season to accommodate the introduction of the world handicap system on November 2. This development will now be a permanent feature going forward.

All interclub leagues were cancelled for the year, and it soon became obvious that the captains would not be able to enjoy a typical year, so they and the vice captains were asked to stay in post for another year. All agreed but on reflection Peter Carotte stood down in October in time for the past captains to find a replacement in Mike Edwards. Club competitive golf began again in June, with much changed administration procedures for entry and scoring.

On the entertainments front, unfortunately in 2020 the club was only able to host one social function and two bingo events, and as things stand, nothing has been booked for 2021.

A spokesperson for the club said it would like to thank Peter Durrans for "his continued hard work on the entertainments front," and added: "All the club appreciates the loyalty of its members, its dedicated staff, and the efforts of volunteers. Thank you, and good golfing in 2021 and many years to come."

The officers elected for the 2021 committee were: Gentlemen’s captain David Hall, ladies captain Patricia Knox, gentlemen’s vice captain Mike Edwards, ladies vice captain Janice Walker, club chairman David Brown, club treasurer Graham Lilley, competitions secretary Kevin Rayner, house chairman Matthew Kettlewell, course chairman Kevin Palethorpe, marketing chairman Hubert Van-Huet.


March 31 – Ladies Fun Competition

1st Debbie Palethorpe 36pts; 2nd Pam Rawlin 34pts (countback required); 3rd Linda Mableson 34pts (countback required)

April 1 – Thursday Stableford

1st Ric Noble 38pts; 2nd Mike Plumber 37pts; 3rd Mike Edwards 36pts; 4th Richard Garner 35pts (countback required); 5th David Paramore 35pts (countback required).

April 2 – Seniors David Midgley Trophy

The Seniors David Midgley Trophy Winner with 7 Nett Birdies (or better) was Les Kitching, the runners up were Paul Gray (6) and Neil Exelby (6).

April 3 – Junior Easter Scramble

It was great to see the juniors back out on the course and nice to welcome four new juniors. 1st Bailey Lawson, Robbie Lee, Jake Phipps and Oliver Moody (won on countback); 2nd Josh Newell, Charlie Clark, Gabriel Wilkinson and Henry Morley; 3rd Sam Elsworth, Thomas Moody, Oliver Crannage and Alfie McNicholl.

April 4 and 5 – Gents Claret Jug

Overall Best Gross: 1st Brian McEwan 77+81=158; 2nd Kevin Rayner 86+78=164; 3rd Matthew Gibb 85+82=167; 4th Ian Morris 84+84=168.

Overall Best Nett: 1st Ian Morris 74+74=148; 2nd Paul Barlow 70+80=150; 3rd Matthew Gibb 77+74=151; 4th Kevin Rayner 80+72=152.

April 4 and 5 – Ladies Claret Jug

Overall Best Gross: 1st Gillian Petrie 90+80=170; 2nd Clare Bevan 94+91=185; 3rd Val Abbey 97+71=188; 4th Sally Hunt 99+92=191.

Overall Best Nett: 1st Pauline Morris 81+74=155; 2nd Julie Noble 78+79=157; 3rd Gillian Petrie 85+75=160; 4th Kathleen Allison 82+78=160.

April 4 and 5 – Junior Claret Jug

Overall Best Gross: 1st Josh Newell 88+89=177; 2nd Bailey Lawson 90+92=182; 3rd Sam Elsworth 84+104=188.

Overall Best Nett: 1st Jake Phipps 73+70=143; 2nd Oscar Cullen 70+78=148; 3rd Robbie Lee 77+77=154.