INSPIRATIONAL teachers who go above and beyond the call of duty to encourage children across North Yorkshire achieve their ambitions have been recognised through special awards.

Backed by North Yorkshire County Council they're hoping the awards will help bring new teachers into the profession .Executive member for education Councillor Patrick Mulligan said nearly 90 per cent of students in the county attend good or outstanding schools. "These finalists represent the many great teachers and support staff in the county’s schools who are so dedicated to helping children achieve their very best, they go above and beyond."

Award winners include: New Primary Teacher: Megan Rowley, South Milford. Secondary Assistant: Zoe Spink, Malton. Secondary outstanding team or individual: Ollie Williams/Dave Harston, Stokesley. Specialist Education Team: Eileen Corbett, Jean Monkman, Karen Raven, Alison Robert , Susan Steele, Jess Pinder:Springhead School. Stepping up to the Challenge: Zoe Gill, Settle College. New Secondary Teacher: Peter Woodrow, Malton. Primary Teaching Assistant: Catherine Harland, St Wilfreds. Outstanding Individual, Primary: Kim Exelby, Easingwold. Community and Collaboration Award: Helen Mukherjee, Janet Laidler-Smith, Stuart Heaviside, Elizabeth Mukherjee,Upper Wharfedale. Teacher of the Year, Secondary: Sam Stones, Norton College. Primary Teacher of the Year: Helen Holmes, Hookstone Chase.