POLICE officers who go above and beyond in the line of duty have been shortlisted for a Public Choice Award.

North Yorkshire Police are asking the public to vote for the officer they believe deserves to win the award.

Past winners include PC Richard Farrar, who single-handedly tackled an armed thief, PC Mike Tinsley for handling a domestic knife attack and Sergeant Ed Simpson for his work in breaking down the stigma of mental illness in the blue light services.

This year the nominees include; PC Mike Barker, for saving a man from suicide, PC Craig Davies and PC Richard O’Connell for tackling a knife-man in a domestic incident and PCSO Angie Smith for supporting students and staff at a school in the aftermath of a gun-plot.

Speaking about the Public Choice Award, North Yorkshire Police’s Chief Constable, Lisa Winward, said: “Every day, there are officers, staff and volunteers who go the extra mile to keep the public safe.

“Most of the time that goes unseen, but the Public Choice Award is an opportunity for us to highlight some of their stories, and ask the public to show their support by placing a vote.

“Knowing that the work we do is valued by the public means so much to everyone who works for the police service; it really gives everyone a boost, and we are very much looking forward to finding out who will take the winning spot this year. ”

The Police and Crime Commissioner Julia Mulligan has championed the Award since it was introduced in 2015, and she will make the prize presentation at a ceremony in October.

She said: “The Public Choice Award is a showcase for the work the police do here in North Yorkshire – things that don’t always hit the headlines, but that make a real difference to the safety of our communities.

“We’ve had some great Public Choice winners in the past, and we’ve got some great nominees this year. I would urge everyone to get behind this year’s Award and cast a vote.”

The Public Choice Award will be announced at North Yorkshire Police’s Annual Awards ceremony next month.

To read about the nominees and place a vote, visit: northyorkshire.police.uk/award18.

Voting closes at noon on October 11.

The ceremony is sponsored by Price Waterhouse Cooper Services, with additional support from the Police Federation, UNISON, the Police Mutual Society and others.