DOZENS of North Yorkshire hotels, restaurants and attractions have been recognised in a prestigious award celebrating the best of tourism.

The White Rose Awards are the UK’s largest celebration of tourism, covering 17 categories from the best Yorkshire pub to outstanding customer service.

Now the shortlist has been announced of more than 100 businesses in the Welcome to Yorkshire awards.

Later in the year an awards dinner will be held to celebrate the county’s finest tourism businesses and announce the finalists.

Last year’s event made history when more than 1,000 people watched Take That superstar Gary Barlow and co-writer of The Girls musical, Tim Firth, being made honorary Yorkshiremen at the awards held at the first direct arena Leeds. The musical is based on the Calendar Girls.

Sir Gary Verity, chief executive of Welcome to Yorkshire, said: “Once again the entries for this year’s White Rose Awards have been exceptional across all categories, so a huge congratulations to those who have made the shortlist.

“As the largest celebration of tourism in the UK, the White Rose Awards are a fitting tribute to Yorkshire’s fantastically diverse businesses that work tirelessly to help to make the county number one.”

Those from North Yorkshire to be nominated include High Parks Tearoom in Newton-le-Willows, near Bedale for the “Taste of Yorkshire” category, while the Swaledale Festival and Kunsthuis Gallery at the Dutch house wildlife gardens in Crayke are finalists in the Arts and Culture section.

In the small hotel category, the Feversham Arms Hotel in Helmsley, The Pheasant Hotel in Harome and The Talbot Hotel in Malton were all nominated.

In the guest accommodation category Cambridge House Countryside Guesthouse in Reeth, Low Mill Guesthouse in Bainbridge and Stow House in Aysgarth have been shortlisted.

Colin Mellors, chair of the White Rose Award judges, said: “Yorkshire’s tourism is a remarkable sector with fantastic hospitality, facilities and produce on offer.

“Those shortlisted should feel very proud to have been selected against such strong competition. Choosing the eventual winners this year will be a really tough task.”

For a full list of winners visit;