FIVE Tennis Clubs have taken part in the Dales Junior Tennis tournament and the top two teams played their final match last Sunday in order to decide the winning team overall. In a match of a very high standard, Ripon Tennis Centre beat Leake Tennis Club and were presented with the trophy for 2017. Juniors played both singles and doubles matches during the finals.

Pictured below are the winning team from Ripon Tennis Centre: Sam Mansfield, Alex Edwards, Harry Edwards and Louis Scott Brown.

Leake Juniors were Jack Critchlow, Max Critchlow, Bobby Davidson and Flyn Mullins.

The sponsors of the tournament were Earley Ornamentals of Thirsk.

THE final of the Dales Ladies Doubles Tennis Tournament was played last Saturday on a lovely summer afternoon at Ripon Tennis Centre. Over 11 tennis clubs had played in the preliminary rounds of both divisions and the top two teams played in the finals to decide the champions for 2017.

In Division 1 West Tanfield beat Academy by 4 rubbers to 1. The winning team are pictured below: Judith Abel, Jacki Eccles, Kath Halliday and Kim Wood. Margaret Allen, the non-playing captain of West Tanfield is holding the Dales trophy.

In Division 2 Bedale played Burton Leonard in a close, exciting final which was decided by counting the number of games won. Bedale won by 38 games to 32.