Kendrew takes the honours in Chris Carter Trophy Trial

4:39pm Wednesday 23rd April 2014

BETA UK rider Guy Kendrew, 26, eclipsed a star-studded entry in the fourth round of the S3 Part Championship on Sunday at Dob Park, Otley, West Yorkshire.

Kendrew rode the Andrew Carter/Danny Cockshott devised Chris Carter Trophy Trial course for a mere six penalties. The Faceby competitor rode the first 20 sections for a single penalty.

Yeadon-Guiseley club members Jack Spencer and Martin Crosswaite topped the rostrum, while Whitby’s Andy Chilton won the non-eligible class from reigning champion Richard Sadler after Dan Thorpe lost penalties through a stalled engine on his Gas Gas.

Crossroads over-40 winner Phil Disney stormed the class on his Repsol Honda ahead of Tony Scarlett and former speedway rider David Pye.

FACEBY’S David Bell does not compete in many centre trials but when he does, he makes an impact, as he did on Sunday, winning the Thirsk DMC trial by four marks from Mark Harrison. Held at Long Plain Farm, Hambleton, on Sunday.

Phil Mayfield returned to form to take the Intermediate class, while Barrie Darrell edged Alan Carr out by one mark to win Clubman A.

Shaun Trotter eased to B class victory as he and Mark Jewell battled for top spot, Trotter gained his advantage on the climb where Ruth Hindmarch observed, just one lost as Jewell fived, but Jewell could claim to be the only Clubman B to remain clean on the graded hill.

Scarborough’s Callum Williamson has really taken to the Ossa and produced a solid ride to beat friend and rival Zac Collinson to the Class B laurels.

DURHAM County Trials Club provided a new venue last week, giving the North East Centre the chance to try out the terrain at Dursand Quarry, high above Stanhope in the Wear Valley.

Eighty-seven riders made the start to what turned out to be an excellent venue with plenty of scope for the future. On the Expert route, Stephen Larkin and John Charlton were the main contenders.

Jack Biggins is on form right now and he took another win on the Clubman route, the Youth B rider beating off a host of decent novices. Ian Cheetham was another in great form on his Dot, this time on the Easy course.

ISLE of Wight former ladies trials champion Becky Cook won the adult class in the second round of the ladies and girls trial championship at Church Stretton, South Shropshire, on Sunday.

Nikita Smith took third place from Jess Bown and Chloe Richardson.

Isle of Man police officer Saskia Baxter won the Inter class from Askrigg’s Robyn Alderson. Class A was a battle between Louise Alford, Victoria Payne and Hurworth’s Beth Waite. Beth is competing above her age class this year.

In Class B, local girl Alice Minta edged out Niamh Richardson, by two penalties. The Skeeby teenager won a tiebreak with Isle of Man newcomer Sophie-May Hardie. Beth Watling grabbed seventh place for the Richmond club. North East Centre girls excelled with Amy Turpin second in Class C, while Consett Inter class contender Olivia Pearson was second in the girls intermediate category.

Kirkbymoorside Class A youth rider Dan Peace won his class at the second round of the Youth championship series at Church Stretton.

Richmond’s Tom Alderson was fourth ahead of Scarborough’s Michael Todd and BenTennant. Sam Yeomans won Class B by a threemark margin from Skelding’s Sam Johnson. Jack Peace salvaged fourth place and 13 points in a hotbed of southern rivals.

WEEKEND RESULTS (April 12 -13)

Yeadon-Guiseley DMC S3 Parts Chris Carter Trophy Trial, Dob Park, Sunday. S3 Parts Championship: 1 Guy Kendrew (Beta) 6, 2 Jack Spencer (Beta) 11, 3 Martin Crosswaite (Gas Gas) 15, 4 Chris Pearson (Sherco) 15, 6 Rob Waite (Beta) 17. Non-championship: 1 Andy Chilton (Beta) 11, 2 Richard Sadler (Sherco) 14, 3 Dan Thorpe (Gas Gas) 16. Over 40s: 1 Phil Disney (Honda) 29, 2 Tony Scarlett (Beta) 42, 3 David Pye (Gas Gas) 49. 125cc: 1 James Stones (Sherco) 41, 2 Chris Alford (Gas Gas) 61, 3 Daniel Tuley (Gas Gas) 80. Easy course: 1 Roger Williams (Beta) 14, 2 Chris Ward (Scorpa) 25, 3 Andrew Tales (Beta) 27.

Thirsk & DMC Trial, Long Plain Farm, Hambleton, Sunday. Experts: 1 David Bell (Montesa) 21, 2 Mark Harrison (Beta) 25. Intermediates: 1 Phil Mayfield (Gas Gas) 4, 2 Paul Dennis (Beta) 9, 3 Rob Carter (Gas Gas) 13. Clubman A: 1 Barrie Darrell (Montesa) 29, 2 Alan Carr (Gas Gas) 30, 3 Andrew Gibson (Scorpa) 32.

Clubman B: 1 Shaun Trotter (Gas Gas) 4, 2 Mark Jewell (Beta) 7, 3 John Stones (Beta) 8. Youth A: 1 Tom Geldart (Beta) 38, 2 Aldis Blacker (Beta) 84. Youth B: 1 Callum Williamson (Ossa) 37, 2 Zac Collinson (Gas Gas) 45. Youth C: Claire Collinson (Beta) 72.

Durham County Trials Club Trial, Dursand Quarry, Stanhope, Sunday.

Expert Course: 1 Stephen Larkin (Beta) 7, 2 John Charlton (Beta) 17, 3 Carl Shaw (Gas Gas) 44. Clubman Course: 1 Jack Biggins (Beta) 5, 2 James Black (Sherco) 6, 3 Darren Palmer (Montesa) 7. Easy Course: 1 Ian Cheetham (Dot) 1, 2 John Palmer (Beta) 4, 3 Daniel Ditchburn (Ossa) 5. Twin shock Micky Johnson (Fantic) 15. Class B: Matthew Ball (Gas Gas) 23. Class C: Adam Biggins (Beta) 26.

Ripon DMC Round One Acklams Summer Championship Trial, Hutton Conyers, Saturday. Hard course, Novices: 1 Andrew Tales (Fantic) 17, 2 Kevin Fleetham (Beta) 25, 3 Chris Laws (Gas Gas) 29. Over 40s: 1 Michael Platts 12, 2 N Brown 28, 3 Richard Welford 29 (all Sherco). Youths: 1 Aldis Blacker 14, 2 Harry Wills 27, 3 James Taylor 30 (all Beta). Green course, novices: 1 T Simpson (Beta) 6, P Stones (Beta) 6, 3 Paul Pulman (Scorpa) 7. Twin Shock: 1 Paul Dennis 0, 2 Kevin Morley (Fantic) 3.

Youths: Joe Tales 18, 2 Ben Yeadon 21, 3 Michael Townson 22. Over 50s: 1 Chris Dale (Montesa) 1, 2 Steve Bradley (Beta) 2, Paul Jarman (Beta) 2. Beginners: 1 Stephen Dennis (Montesa) 1, 2 Josh Ben (Beta) 7, 3 N Richardson (Sherco) 7.

Youth easy course: 1 Guy Stones (Beta) 1, 2 Elliot Laws (Beta) 16, 3 S Charlton (Gas Gas) 22. Small wheels hard course: 1 W Handley (Beta) 1, 2 R Pulman (Gas Gas) 9, 3 Monte Andrew (Beta) 15. Small wheels easy course: 1 = Conrad Andrew (Sherco)/ Aiden Simpson (Gas Gas) 0, 3 Harry Parkin (Gas Gas) 10. Class E: Alex Horne 0, 2 Jack Vasey 5, 3 Dominic Horne 10 (all Oset). Non competitive adult: Sam Yeadon (Honda) 11.

Non-competitive youth: Elliot Laws (Beta) 19.


© Copyright 2001-2017 Newsquest Media Group

Darlington and Stockton Times: Site Logo

Click 2 Find Business Directory