HAWES United were crowned champions for the first time in 28 years last Saturday after a 2-0 home win over Carperby Rovers. Hawes knew victory would guarantee them their first title since 1986 but it took until just before the break for Jonathon Champion to ease the nerves. Wilf Dinsdale then sealed the points, and the title, 13 minutes from time and the celebrations could begin.

Unicorn FC clinched the runners-up spot after ending their campaign with a 7-1 win at Catterick Rovers. A deflected effort from Chris Green gave Rovers a shock early lead but 2013 champions Unicorn had turned the match around by the break. Mark Cobb equalised in the 31st minute, heading home a Danny Dale free kick, while a bizarre own goal and a second for Cobb made it 3-1 at half time. Substitute Andrew Hines scored within four minutes of coming off the bench on the hour while Cobb completed his hat-trick with a towering header. Hines then added two more in the closing stages to complete a hat-trick of his own.

Medals Shields winners Colburn Town are guaranteed a third-placed finish after thrashing Richmond Town Academy 8-1. The goals of Stu Murray and Tom Sweeney have been the key to Colburn’s success this season and they both scored hat-tricks here to take their combined total for the season to 81. Adam Palmer and Brandon Bishop were also on target. Joseph Dingwall scored a consolation for the Academy, who finish ninth.

Richmond Mavericks Reserves brought the curtain down on their season with a 5-1 win at Spennithorne and Harmby. Craig Marwood gave the hosts an early lead but Fabio Sartini and Darren Matthews scored before the break to turn the match in the Mavs favour. Sartini and Matthews were both on target again in the second half while David Andrews completed the scoring late on. The Mavericks will finish fourth providing Richmond Buck Inn do not beat champions Hawes United by a seven goal margin tomorrow.

Spenni, meanwhile, end a disappointing campaign in seventh spot.