Yarm School pupils all set for Twickenham bow

READY TO GO: Youngsters from Yarm School

READY TO GO: Youngsters from Yarm School

First published in Sport

YOUNGSTERS from Yarm Schoolwilltomorrowseetheir dreamscometrueas theystep out on to the Twickenham pitch to play a cup final.

Yarm earned themselves a coveted spot to play at the famous ground in the final of the Daily Mail RBS Vase, after defeatingPlymouthCollege 8- 5 in the hard-fought semifinal.

Theteamwillgracethehallowed turf of Twickenham tomorrow, when they meet FelstedSchoolfromEssex,where theschool’sheadof rugbyStuart Hardy will lead his team out in what will be the proudest moment of his career to date.

“I’m tremendously proud.

Just being there will be a tremendous occasion,” said Hardy, who has worked at Yarm School since 1990.

“We’ve conquered the first hurdle of not being a losing semi-finalist, if we go home with nothing at least we’ll have had the day out. But we’re hoping it will be a very special day.

“It’s got to be up there with the greatest achievements in anybody’s rugby career.”

Yarm will be backed on the day by 280 fans travelling by coach, with around 200 making their own arrangements to travel toTwickenham.

Theteamhasneverwonthe competition before, with the U15s team coming closest back in 2001, when they were knocked out at the semi-final stage.

Yarmboast firepower inthe form of Zach Kibirige, the 18- year-old Newcastle Falcons centre who has represented England at under-18 level.

He is Yarm’s jewel in the crown, and will play his final game for the school at Twickenham,agroundhehasnever set foot in previously.

Hardy admits his side are excited about the day ahead of them, but is hoping for a strong performance at the home of rugby.

“For some of these boys, this isgoingtobe thepinnacle of their careers,” said Hardy.

“They’ll always be able to say “I’ve played at Twickenham” but they’d prefer to say “I’ve played at Twickenham and won.”

Picture: Yarm School’s under-18 squad head to Twickenham tomorrow. Back row,
from left – Connor Hartigan, Simon Eastham, Jonny Collantine, Chris Webb (coach). Middle
row – Stuart Hardy (coach), Scott Melville, Josh Woodward, Fezan Mughal, Adam
Henderson, Jamie Fox, Akshay Peddada, Tamer Fuat, Adam Edmondson, Robert Duggleby,
Ayoosh Choudhary, Zach Kibirige. Front row – Alex Nargol, Tom Mavin, Alex O’Brien, Will
Guthrie, Jonny Teague, Tom Lawson, Josh Jones. Not pictured: Fola Ajekigbe, Jack Yetman

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree