Museum launches summer of family fun

First published in News

MUSIC, crafts and history are among the themes at family activities being offered at a North-East museum.

The Bowes Museum, in Barnard Castle, launches its summer programme next week with making music workshops, featuring a different instrument each day, running from Tuesday (July 22) to Friday, July 25.

A family fun day celebrating toys from the past takes place on Tuesday, July 29, with storytelling from Adam Bushnell and activities such as making a jack-in-the-box, decorating spinning tops and creating a cup and ball game.

There will be felt teddy bear-making and robot craft workshops from Wednesday, July 30, to Friday, August 1.

On Monday, August 4, a printing for families session looks at the museum’s David Hockney exhibition before creating a block print.

A miner’s banner-themed session takes place on Tuesday, August 5, inspired by the museum’s Shafts of Light exhibition.

Weaving wonders craft sessions run on Thursday and Friday, August 7 and 8, followed by ‘delightful dollies’ on Tuesday, August 12, and Thursday and Friday, August 14 and 15.

Craft activities on Monday, August 18 and Wednesday, August 20 to Friday, August 22, celebrate Italy, Holland, France and Greece, on respective days.

There will be a Victorian-themed family fun day on Tuesday, August 19, with writing practice using pen, ink and slates, peg doll and proggy mat-making, creating shadow puppets and a themed trail around the museum.

Silk painting workshops run on Tuesday and Wednesday, August 26 and 27, and collagraph printing, for children aged over seven, runs on Thursday and Friday, August 28 and 29.

Meanwhile, a Victorian Childhood exhibition runs until Sunday, September 7, with interactive features including costumes, craft activities and games.

Booking is required for the music sessions, teddy bear, robot and international-themed crafts, weaving wonders, silk painting and collograph printing.

Call 01833-690606 or visit thebowesmuseum.org.uk.

Comments

Comments are closed on this article.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree