Polling stations closed in Middlesbrough by-election

First published in News Darlington and Stockton Times: Photograph of the Author by

THE POLLING booths have closed in the by-election for the parliamentary seat in Middlesbrough.

The election was called in the wake of Sir Stuart Bell's death at his Middlesbrough home, aged 74, following a short battle with pancreatic cancer.

He first became Middlesbrough MP in June 1983.

The candidates are: Andy MacDonald, Labour; Richard Elvin, Ukip candidate; Conservative Ben Houchen; John Malcolm for the Trade Union and Socialist Coalition; George Selmer for the Liberal Democrats; Imdad Hussain for the Peace Party; Peter Foreman for the British National Party; and Mark Heslehurst who will contest the seat as an independent.

For reports and results, including a live blog, go to northernecho.co.uk/byelection

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree