SIX honorary degrees will be awarded by the University of Teesside during its annual graduation ceremony week.

Bill Scott, founder and chief executive of the Teesside-based engineering firm the Wilton Group, and Sir Ian Wrigglesworth, former MP for Thornaby and later Stockton South, will receive honorary degrees.

Durham-born Stephen Purdham, founder of successful online jukebox We7, Harry Pearson, Guardian sports writer, originally from Great Ayton, North Yorkshire, and prominent sociologist Professor Bev Skeggs, from Middlesbrough, will also become honorary graduates.

Billingham-born Alan Davey, who has been chief executive of the Arts Council since 2007, will also pick up the honour.

More than 4,000 graduates will pick up their degrees in the University’s annual academic awards ceremonies.

A total of 13 ceremonies will be held over the five days until Friday, with awards ranging from foundation degrees to undergraduate degrees, masters and doctorates.

An academic procession through the centre of Middlesbrough was taking place today (MONDAY), setting off from the University’s Centuria Building and marching along Albert Road to the Town Hall.

All the graduations can be watched live on the Big Screen in Centre Square, Middlesbrough and on the University’s website at